Skip to main content

Complete Japanese Roster for London World Championships

After some last-minute qualifications and IAAF invitations, Japan will field a team of 50 including three alternates for next week's London World Championships. Javelin throw national record holder Yuki Ebihara (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) was named captain of the women's team of 14, with marathoner Yuki Kawauchi (Saitama Pref. Gov't) captaining the men's team of 36. The complete Japanese roster with best times within the London qualifying window:

Men's Sprints
Abdul Hakim Sani Brown (Tokyo T&F Assoc.) - 100 m / 200 m  10.05 / 20.32
Shuhei Tada (Kwansei Gakuin Univ.) - 100 m - 10.08
Aska Cambridge (Nike) - 100 m - 10.08
Shota Iizuka (Mizuno) - 200 m - 20.40
Takamasa Kitagawa (Juntendo Univ.) - 400 m - 45.48

Additional Relay Members
Yoshihide Kiryu (Toyo Univ.) - 4x100 m - 10.04
Kenji Fujimitsu (Zenrin) - 4x100 m - 20.47
Kazushi Kimura (Yondenko) - 4x400 m - 45.54
Kentaro Sato (Fujitsu) - 4x400 m - 45.67
Yuzo Kanemaru (Otsuka Seiyaku) - 4x400 m - 45.76
Kosuke Horii (Sumitomo Denko) - 4x400 m - 45.88

Women's Long Distance
Rina Nabeshima (Japan Post) - 5000 m - 15:19.87
Ayuko Suzuki (Japan Post) - 5000 m / 10000 m - 15:20.50 / 31:18.16
Miyuki Uehara (Daiichi Seimei) - 10000 m - 31:38.80
Mizuki Matsuda (Daihatsu) - 10000 m - 31:39.41

Men's Long Distance
Hironori Tsuetaki (Fujitsu) - 3000 mSC - 8:29.05

Women's Hurdles
Hitomi  Shimura (Toho Ginko) - 100 mH - 13.03
Ayako Kimura (Edion) - 100 mH - 13.06

Men's Hurdles
Genta Masuno (Yamada Denki) - 110 mH - 13.40
Shunya Takayama (Zenrin) - 110 mH - 13.44
Hideki Omuro (Otsuka Seiyaku) - 110 mH - 13.48
Takatoshi Abe (Descente AC) - 400 mH - 48.94
Ryo Kajiki (Josai Univ.) - 400 mH - 49.33
Yusuke Ishida (Waseda Univ.) - 400 mH - 49.35

Men's Jumps
Takashi Eto (AGF) - high jump - 2.30 m
Seito Yamamoto (Toyota) - pole vault - 5.71 m
Hiroki Ogita (Miuzno) - pole vault - 5.70 m
Ryoma Yamamoto (Juntendo Univ.) - triple jump - 16.87 m

Women's Throws
Yuki Ebihara (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) - javelin throw - 61.95 m - captain
Marina Saito (Kokushikan Univ.) - javelin throw - 61.07 m
Risa Miyashita (Osaka Taiiku Univ.) - javelin throw - 60.03 m

Men's Throws
Ryohei Arai (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) - javelin throw - 82.13 m

Men's Combined Events
Akihiko Nakamura (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) - decathlon - 8180
Keisuke Ushiro (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) - decathlon - 8160

Women's Race Walks
Kumiko Okada (Bic Camera) - 20 kmRW - 1:29:40

Men's Race Walks
Eiki Takahashi (Fujitsu) - 20 kmRW - 1:18:18
Isamu Fujisawa (Alsok) - 20 kmRW - 1:18:23
Daisuke Matsunaga (Fujitsu) - 20 kmRW - 1:18:53
Toshikazu Yamanishi (Kyoto Univ.) - 20 kmRW - 1:19:03 (alternate)
Hirooki Arai (SDF Academy) - 50 kmRW - 3:40:20
Kai Kobayashi (Bic Camera) - 50 kmRW - 3:42:08
Satoshi Maruo (Aichi Seiko) - 50 kmRW - 3:49:17

Women's Marathon
Yuka Ando (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) - 2:21:36
Mao Kiyota (Suzuki Hamamatsu AC) - 2:23:47
Risa Shigetomo (Tenmaya) - 2:24:22
Misato Horie (Noritz) - 2:25:44 (alternate)

Men's Marathon
Hiroto Inoue (MHPS) - 2:08:22
Yuki Kawauchi (Saitama Pref. Gov't) - 2:09:01 - captain
Kentaro Nakamoto (Yasukawa Denki) - 2:09:32
Hiroyuki Yamamoto (Konica Minolta) - 2:09:12 (alternate)

© 2017 Brett Larner, all rights reserved


Most-Read This Week

Morita Goes Sub-32 in 10000 m Debut

Running her track 10000 m debut of a 32:27 road 10 km in the spring, Kaori Morita (Panasonic) closed hard off a slow opening pace to win the National Corporate Federation Women's Long Distance Time Trials 10000 m Friday afternoon in Yamaguchi.

A new filler meet to take up space on the calendar following the National Corporate Women's Ekiden's move to November, the Corporate Time Trials meet featured one heat of 3000 m and three 5000 m heats before its main focus, the 10000 m. After a 3:19 first 1000 m Morita's teammate Yuka Hori, winner of the 10.9 km Third Stage at Nationals, took over, leading the field at 3:12 to 3:14 / km pace through 7000 m. Morita, who won the 7.0 km First Stage, went to the front at that point with a 3:14 to 8000 m before taking off.

Clocking her fastest split up to that point with a 3:07 between 8 and 9000 m, Morita closed impressively with a 3:01 final km to dip under 32 minutes as she won in 31:59.94. Steepler Chikako Mori (Sekisui Kagaku) w…

Saitama International Marathon Top Two's Times Annulled Due to Last-Minute Misdirection by Race Officials

At the Nov. 12 Saitama International Marathon, Kenyan Flomena Cheyech Daniel won a sprint finish over Bahraini Shitaye Habtegebrel by 3 seconds to take her second-straight Saitama title in 2:28:39. On Dec. 11 race organizers announced that both runners' times had been annulled.

In the midst of the pair's battle for the win, race officials misdirected the pair into the righthand lane on the final corner instead of the lefthand lane in which the finish line was located. Both ran over the curb dividing the two lanes and returned to the original course before finishing.

At the time JAAF executive director Mitsugi Ogata said, "This was a mistake by the organizers and the athletes did nothing wrong. There was no effect on the finishing order and no advantage gained in terms of the distance run." After later consultation with JAAF officials, race organizers decided that Cheyech and Habtegebrel had not covered the complete distance and that their times should be annulled. N…

Tokyo Marathon to Move to March Date Beginning in 2019

At a press conference in Tokyo on Dec. 12, the Tokyo Marathon Foundation announced that beginning in 2019, the Tokyo Marathon will move from its current date on the last Sunday of February to the first Sunday of March. The next Imperial succession is set to take place in 2019, meaning that February 23 will become the Emperor's Birthday national holiday starting in 2020. The race date is being preemptively moved to avoid any potential overlap.

According to the Foundation, setting up and breaking down the facilities necessary to hold the Tokyo Marathon takes several days. With the finish area being positioned in front of the Imperial Palace there were concerns that problems would arise due to the large number of people who would gather in the area to celebrate the Emperor's birthday.

Translator's note: The Tokyo Marathon previously experimented with a March race date in 2009 but abandoned it to return to February the next year. Since 1994 the first Sunday of March has been t…